Kode9 announces details of Rinse:22

Tags: Hyperdub / Kode9

Available Now on CD & Digital.

Steve ‘Kode9′ Goodman has been keeping quiet on the production front. In late February this year, he has announced the release of his new single, ‘Xingfu Lu’, which is also the first new material to come out since ‘Black Sun’, a 12-track dubstep/ experimental album he worked on with long-term collaborator The Spaceape.

Following on Rinse:21 by T.Williams, the Hyperdub boss has unveiled details of his latest compilation for Rinse, in which features a total of 37 tracks, presenting a cluster of Hyperdub members like DVA, Burial, Morgan Zarate and some other leading UK names – Joy O, Jam City, Rustie, and S-Type. At a glimpse of the tracklist, Rinse:22 promises to capture a refreshing and energetic fusion of grime and footwork, showcasing material by key members of the current grime scene – Champion, Visionist, Faze Miyake and Terror Danjah, as well as a string of Chicago juke and footworkers like DJ Manny, DJ Rashad, DJ Spinn and DJ Earl. He has included three original cuts in this mix CD, including the aforementioned “Xingfu Lu”, as well as two other previously unreleased tracks called “Uh” and “Kan”.

To quote Kode9 himself, Rinse:22 is a snapshot of his current club sets and selections for Rinse FM’s Hyperdub show, which over the last few years have converged on trap-inspired hip-hop beats and Chicago footwork. Both those styles express many of those same characteristics. “The hip-hop and footwork has all got that double time thing – a slow bass underpinning, with those double time drums and percussion on top – that I used to love in jungle,” he enthuses. “It’s weird, ’cause when people talk about hip hop and footwork these days, they tend to get infatuated with it being functional music, club music and street music. Which is all true, but what’s more interesting is how rhythmically sophisticated it is, compared with most music that’s around these days.”

To celebrate the release of Rinse:22, Kode9 will hold a launch party on 24th May at a secret London location. More details to be announced soon, though meanwhile, tickets can be purchased here.


1 Burial - Truant
2 Theo Parrish - Kites on Pluto
3 Morgan Zarate feat. Roses Gabor - Pusher Taker
4 Titonton- Spread
5 Alex Parkinson & Chris Lorenzo - What Must I Prove 2 U
6 Joy O - Big Room Tech House DJ Tool – TIP!
7 Funkystepz - Vice Versa
8 Terror Danjah & Champion - Stone Island
9 DVA - Chilli Burrito
10 Champion - Friday 13th
11 Jam City – Her
12 Kode9 – Uh
13 Kuedo - Mirtazapine
14 Visionist - Something Old Something New
15 Dexplicit - Change Formation
16 Faze Miyake - Burciaga
17 The Bug feat. Flow Dan - Dirty
18 Dexplicit - Wave Machine
19 Cashmere Cat - Aurora
20 Rustie - Triadzz
21 Terror Danjah - Sam Cro
22 S-Type - Flyp City
23 Kode9 - Xingfu Lu
24 RP Boo - Steamidity
25 RP Boo - Red Hot
26 DJ Manny - Work That Body
27 Kode9 - Kan
28 DJ Rashad - Rollin
29 Unconventional Science - 8 Shots Up (Bleep Bloop Remix)
30 DJ Rashad feat. DJ Earl - Freshtek
31 DJ Rashad - Brighter Days
32 Sam Binga & Addison Groove - 11th (Dub)
33 DJ Rashad & DJ Spinn - Last Winter
34 DJ Rashad & Freshmoon - Everybody
35 DJ Rashad & DJ Manny - Way I Feel
36 DJ Rashad & Phil - Everyday of My Life
37 DJ Rashad - Let It Go

Tweet us at @rinsefm